MoAF to Honor Ken Griffin and Timothy Geithner at 2018 Gala

January 18, 2018

MoAF to Honor Ken Griffin and Timothy Geithner at 2018 Gala

New York, NY – The Museum of American Finance will honor the achievements of two financial leaders in both the public and private sectors at its annual gala on February 6, 2018 at Cipriani Wall Street.

Ken Griffin will receive the Charles Schwab Financial Innovation Award. Mr. Griffin founded Citadel in 1990 and has since served as the firm’s Chief Executive Officer. He also founded Citadel Securities, a leading global market maker, in 2002. Today, Citadel is recognized as one of the most respected and successful investment firms in the world, and manages over $27 billion in capital for its partners. Mr. Griffin is also a passionate philanthropist, supporting educational and cultural causes that drive community engagement and opportunity. The Charles Schwab Financial Innovation Award, inaugurated at the Museum’s 2016 Gala, recognizes individuals who have introduced new markets or new financial instruments to our financial system. The award is named after Charles Schwab, Founder and Chairman of The Charles Schwab Corporation, who is often credited with “democratizing” investment.

The Whitehead Award for Distinguished Public Service and Financial Leadership will recognize the significant contributions of Timothy Geithner, the 75th Secretary of the Treasury and the former President and CEO of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York. He first joined the Treasury Department as a civil servant in 1988 and held a number of positions in three administrations. He is Chairman of the Board of Overseers of the International Rescue Committee, serves on the Board of Directors of the Council on Foreign Relations and is a member of the Group of Thirty. Mr. Geithner is currently President of Warburg Pincus, a global private equity firm. Named after the late John C. Whitehead, former Deputy Secretary of State and Co-Chair of Goldman Sachs, the Whitehead Award recognizes leaders who have demonstrated great achievement in the field of finance and have also served with distinction in the public sphere.

“I am so pleased that two iconic figures of finance will receive our prestigious awards,” said David Cowen, President and CEO of the Museum of American Finance. “Mr. Griffin embodies the American entrepreneurial spirit of advancement that has transformed our financial services industry over time. He is, therefore, a superb choice for the Charles Schwab Financial Innovation Award. Mr. Geithner served our nation with exceptional leadership at the Treasury Department and the Federal Reserve during very difficult times, and he is incredibly deserving of the Whitehead Award. We look forward to honoring both of these individuals for their outstanding achievements.”

For more information on the Museum’s 2018 Gala, please visit To receive an invitation to this event, contact Director of External Relations Mindy Ross at 646-833-2755 or

About the Museum of American Finance 
The Museum of American Finance, an affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution, is the nation’s only independent museum dedicated to preserving, exhibiting and teaching about American finance and financial history. With its extensive collection of financial documents and objects, its seminars and educational programming, its publication and oral history program, the Museum portrays the breadth and richness of American financial history, achievement and practices. For more information, visit or connect with the Museum on Facebook or Twitter.

Media Contact: 
Kristin Aguilera 
Museum of American Finance 

# # #