MoAF to Honor Joe Ricketts and Lawrence H. Summers at 2017 Gala

January 17, 2017

MoAF to Honor Joe Ricketts and Lawrence H. Summers at 2017 Gala

New York, NY – The Museum of American Finance will honor the achievements of two financial leaders in both the public and private sectors at its annual gala on February 1, 2017.

Joe Ricketts will receive the Charles Schwab Financial Innovation Award. A pioneer in the use of technology to revolutionize the financial services sector, Mr. Ricketts founded the company now known as TD Ameritrade, a securities industry leader that empowers self-directed investors with powerful and innovative investment tools and training. The Charles Schwab Financial Innovation Award, inaugurated at the Museum’s 2016 Gala, recognizes individuals who have introduced new markets or new financial instruments to our financial system. The award is named after Charles Schwab, Founder and Chairman of The Charles Schwab Corporation, who is often credited with “democratizing” investment.

The Whitehead Award for Distinguished Public Service and Financial Leadership will recognize the significant contributions of Lawrence H. Summers. During the past two decades, Dr. Summers has held several senior policy positions in Washington, DC, including serving as the 71st Secretary of the Treasury for President Bill Clinton, Director of the National Economic Council for President Barack Obama and the Chief Economist of the World Bank. Currently, Dr. Summers is the Charles W. Eliot University Professor and President Emeritus at Harvard University. He was the first social scientist to receive the National Science Foundation’s Alan Waterman Award for scientific achievement and, in 1993, he was awarded the John Bates Clark Medal, given to the most outstanding economist under 40 in the United States. In his speeches, columns and public commentary, Dr. Summers continues to move forward the debate on national and global economic policy. Named after John C. Whitehead, former Deputy Secretary of State and Co-Chair of Goldman Sachs, the Whitehead Award recognizes leaders who have demonstrated great achievement in the field of finance and have also served with distinction in the public sphere.

“I am so pleased that two iconic figures of finance will receive our prestigious awards,” said David Cowen, President and CEO of the Museum of American Finance. “Mr. Ricketts has created new technologies and platforms that have transformed the financial services industry and is, therefore, an ideal Financial Innovation Award recipient. Dr. Summers has served our nation through his leadership at the Treasury Department and in the White House and is quite deserving of the Whitehead Award. We look forward to honoring them both for their outstanding achievements.”

For more information on the Museum’s 2017 Gala, please visit To receive an invitation to this event, contact Director of Development Jeanne Baker Driscoll at 212-908-4694 or

About the Museum of American Finance
The Museum of American Finance, an affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution, is the nation’s only independent museum dedicated to finance, entrepreneurship and the open market system. With its extensive collection of financial documents and objects, its seminars and educational programming, its publication and oral history program, the Museum portrays the breadth and richness of American financial history, achievement and practices. The Museum is located at 48 Wall Street. For more information, visit or connect with the Museum on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram @FinanceMuseum.

Media Contacts:
Kristin Aguilera, Museum of American Finance

Emma Clarke, Vested


2017 Gala Press Release (DOC, 31.00 KB)