Museum to Honor Charles Schwab and Robert Rubin at 2016 Gala

December 15, 2015

Museum to Honor Charles Schwab and Robert Rubin at 2016 Gala

Kristin Aguilera, Deputy Director
Museum of American Finance

New York, NY – The Museum of American Finance will honor the achievements of two financial leaders in both the public and private sectors at its annual gala on January 12, 2016.

The 2016 Gala will inaugurate the Financial Innovation Award, recognizing individuals who have introduced new markets or new financial instruments to our financial system. The first honoree for this Award will be Charles R. “Chuck” Schwab, Founder and Chairman of The Charles Schwab Corporation. Often credited with “democratizing” investment, Mr. Schwab has driven countless innovations in the investment services industry designed to help individuals make the most of saving and investing, including 24/7 access to services; the one-stop mutual fund supermarket providing access to thousands of no-load, no transaction fee mutual funds; custodial services for independent registered investment advisors; online investing and many others.

Robert E. Rubin is the recipient of the eighth-annual Whitehead Award for Distinguished Public Service and Financial Leadership. Named after John C. Whitehead, former Deputy Secretary of State and Co-Chair of Goldman Sachs, the Whitehead Award recognizes leaders who have both demonstrated great achievement in the field of finance and served with distinction in the public sphere. Mr. Rubin spent 26 years at Goldman Sachs, ultimately as Co-Senior Partner, before joining the Clinton Administration as the first Director of the National Economic Council. In January 1995, he became the nation’s 70th Secretary of the Treasury. After leaving Treasury, he became Chairman of LISC, the nation’s largest community development organization, and joined Citigroup. Mr. Rubin co-founded The Hamilton Project; served for 12 years on the Harvard Corporation; and is currently Co-Chair of the Council on Foreign Relations.

“I cannot think of two more iconic figures than Robert Rubin and Chuck Schwab to receive these prestigious awards,” said David Cowen, President and CEO of the Museum of American Finance. “Mr. Rubin, through his leadership on Wall Street and within the federal government, is ideally suited to receive the Whitehead Award. And Charles Schwab is the perfect inaugural Financial Innovation Award recipient, given his many creations that assisted and championed the individual investor.”

For information on the Museum’s 2016 Gala, or to receive an invitation to this event, please contact Director of Development Jeanne Baker Driscoll at 212-908-4694 or

About the Museum of American Finance
The Museum of American Finance is the nation’s only independent museum dedicated to preserving, exhibiting and teaching about American finance and financial history. With its extensive collection of financial documents and objects, its seminars and educational programming, its publication and oral history program, the Museum portrays the breadth and richness of American financial history, achievement and practices. The Museum is located at 48 Wall Street, on the corner of William Street, and is open Tues–Sat, 10 am – 4 pm. For more information, visit or connect with the Museum on Facebook or Twitter.


2016 Gala Press Release (PDF, 90.65 KB)